I have played ‘em all (well, almost) and I have collected them since I was a child. I always play the games and talk about how awesome they are or are not, and every time, the game play, the graphics, the light the sound, and other specification get honorable mentions. What about the characters which make the game your game? Is there any mention of those characters?

I pulled out a list of my favorite characters over the years, and here is what I found.

  • Mario (Donkey Kong):  This was one of the first arcade games and some of the best graphics of its time. Mario brought about a change in scenery with every level, and was one of the first characters we learnt to identify with.
  • Pikachu (Pokemon): The most famous Pokemon character teaches us a thing or two about friendship and his and Ash’s friendship is something Pokemon fans swear by. Also some say he is cute! Whatever.
  • Niko Bellic (Grand Theft Auto IV): People probably empathize with the character of Niko. He has a troubled past and yet he does not take out his anger on the society. He has a deep outlook on life and he has been a major factor why the GTA franchisee has been popular
  • Princess Peach (Super Mario Bros.): Okay this one’s cliché and has the potential of running into trouble, but then who am I to go against public demand? Princess Peach is blonde, she’s the damsel in distress, and she floats in the air too! Guys and girls and kids all love this adorable li’l princess, and I think she definitely paved the way for today’s more kickass ladies of video games.

This is not an exhaustive list, and these are my top favorites. I have more fav characters too, but on them, in a later post.

 

 

 

